Same Thing Twice

same thing twice

Same Thing twice

‘Een ezel stoot zich geen twee keer aan de zelfde steen’ a dutch expression: ‘a donkey does not bump into the  same stone twice’. I always thought it was a rather stupid expression: good for the donkey that he does not make the same mistake twice, but us humans never seem to be so lucky, especially when it comes to bumping into something. The dutch ‘stoten’ kind of implies hitting and hurting. For us humans most of the time the same things happen more often, they are themes, routes, rituals even. For me, it has helped to accept that I am not a donkey, I’m going to experience the same things more than once, even often. I could feel bad, seeing that I’m no more or even less than a donkey, or I could learn to walk around the stone or just grow some thicker skin so it won’t hurt as much. However, the reason I wanted to write about ‘the same thing twice’ was not because I wanted to address how it seems that we can never really stop hurting ourselves by walking into things that we should know are there, it was watching videos on YouTube.  Now I love to sometimes spend an extended time at YouTube researching one speaker: I’ve heard something this person said, or read a book, and I like what I got the first time, so I look for more. Tonight I was inducing myself in the words and the mind of Tomas Sedlacek, a Czech economist that wrote the book ‘economy of good and evil’ in which he both ‘exposes’ myths in modern economy theory as well as he connects old myths and stories to economy and how we (can) understand it.

As some you might have noticed either in the blog or by knowing me in person : I love new ideas, especially If they bring things I love together in a way that I would want to but am not ‘authorised to do’. And here Tomas is connecting economy, art, stories and religion together, the old and the present. Now a good friend of mine also had a mini obsession with Sedlacek, mostly because he apparently called himself a Christian-anarchist. She was thrilled about finding more out about him, but she also said: at some point I’m done watching YouTube video’s/interviews because the same things come back over and over again. And actually that is the case, as previously stated, in most of our lives. Surely, a lot of things in our lives change, but there remains certain themes, thoughts, opinions, and maybe even more: stories. Stories that have defined our lives and relive often, and depending on how extraverted we are or how important it is for us we tell it to others again and again.

Now we live in an age that ‘more information’ is easily accessible: for someone who loves to get in to the depth of things like me this is wonderful. However, especially when it comes to interviews nowadays, every artist/interesting person says the same thing over and over again. And since I’m also a child of these times and just as well love new things, I get disappointed, bored, and move on. That’s why I love to investigate the past. Somehow there seems to be more diversity in information, in interpretation, and it influences and inspires me. I toss, turn and taste it. I can grasp it, like a cloud, and find that the sun has broken through. What I love about art, or philosophy or theory is not what the author, artist, or actor has to say about the matter, it is what it is: the object, the story, that is a starting point, a starting point for me to continue my journey with all the reoccurring stones and stories in my life. (as someone asked for more images: here another reinvention of my high school graduation artwork).

Leave a Reply

