Inspiration and ‘Mirror Question’

Inspiration is a strange thing. Today, I remembered that I have this blog, I have this random place on the internet where I can put on some content, in whatever form. This was a nice reminder because I felt inspired, or rather in the space of mind where writing a blog about everything at the same time sounds like something wonderful. However, unlike the few earlier posts I do not yet have a clear idea of what I want to write, what I want to bring across, unless… unless I write about something amazing that happened to me yesterday.

DSC00722

Life, going, working, leaving , or not. 

For those who know me, or not, anyways, something that seems to happen to me a lot, and I describe as my strongest qualities or disabilities is that I’m not good a leaving. It might take me quite some time to go, but when I’m gone, I love ‘staying on the road’.  Yesterday I had a wonderful adventure because of this quality. With a group we are working on the next edition of ‘Quo Vadis Café’ a creative endeavour that combines art, questions, beauty and the meaning of life, all in a café setting on a Sunday morning. For that reason I had to run some errands at the church office where I met a friend of mine who could use some help, preparing for ‘alpha course’ and since I had no particular reason to go home I decided to volunteer to help her, I decided not to leave. I had no particular plan for the evening, I thought ‘I’ll stay as long as I feel like it’. I thought maybe just stay for diner: I was curious what kind of people that I did not yet know would come to a church attic to talk, together look and search into the meaning of life. I was tired, but for that exact reason I thought I might just stay for the free dinner. However dinner was late, so in the end I ended up being part of the group, accidently. I loved the freedom of speech and the power of vulnerability that is so little seen or found in our society nowadays.

Now why does this posts title refer to ‘mirror questions’? The question ‘what do you want?’ asked by some god,  was introduced to us by one of us, and I was inspired and amazed by how differently all of us regarded that question. Some of us where afraid to answer the question, fearing we might say the wrong thing, or longing for knowing the answer so we can work towards that desire, others objected to the question as being way to easy, and simply asking a god or having a god giving you what you want as proof of little true intention. All this ideas are fascinating  really… For me, the question was like a mirror. For me it was not about actually getting what you want if you would actually be able to answer the question. For me it seemed that the question was posed as a mirror. As an invitation to explore my heart, my mind, my body, longings and purpose. No answer was needed. I could just sit or stand and perhaps, look into the mirror.

One thought on “Inspiration and ‘Mirror Question’

Leave a Reply

