Spoon society.

The other day I was walking around with my friend trough the city. I showed her ‘the school of life’: it’s like church for the non-religious. Hearing and discussing what life really is all about. Now I have never been to one of the school of life events, so I am no  person to review their work. But, I so often see blogpost about ‘the 5 things you really should be doing to be successful/happy/fulfilled/whatever’ and it is not all bullshit. It is just curious that in a society where everyone is super suspicious of any preacher or comprehensive life-view we do want to read what really makes us tick in a little over 500 words. Of course is it’s not only blogpost but things such as ted talks that in 20 minutes tell you everything you need to know about anything. And yes, I can judge those, cause I view them and read them. I see people say: ‘wow this is so true..’ Every time I read the comment section at ‘wait but why’ I am so surprised that people ‘praise’ a random person who makes illustrations using paint as someone who truly understands life. It is not all wrong but it certainly feels strange to me. as if any of our lives could be summed up in a list of ten things. As if the only thing you need to change your life for the better is read a book, a blog or watch a film. When I told all this to my friend she said. you’re right. but the in the spoon society we live in, we want everything in one bite.

Today I saw the ted talk I’ll post below. The speakers starts ‘if you can teach a monkey how to sing, can you teach a Harvard professor to give a ted lecture’. An eighty year old professor tells someone’s story. He does give some kind of list, but the most important thing is that he tells a story, a story of a life, and how you can change trough what you find in life, if you value it. It has no easy answers. but it is beautiful. And beauty should always be valued.

Perhaps this post is ironic. But that if you read it,  hopefully it is not that you had your hopes high because of some provocative title that made you click and read even though you knew it’s promises were empty. I hope you see something. interesting, and perhaps, take a fork, toss it around a little bit. And see what it tastes like.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

