Embroidery Inspiration //Mash-Up

In the second year of university, now already more than four years ago, I embroidered a lot. I spend a lot of time in the train and embroidery was the perfect craft to do the train ride since it takes up so little space.  In that year I created some kind of sampler, I tried out numerous designs and styles on a very convenient base: the fabric that is usually embroidered to add to baby blankets.

DSC01277

In the second year of university, now already more than four years ago, I embroidered a lot. I spend a lot of time in the train and embroidery was the perfect craft to do the train ride since it takes up so little space.  In that year I created some kind of sampler, I tried out numerous designs and styles on a very convenient base: the fabric that is usually embroidered to add to baby blankets.

Since embroidery is quite complex to truthfully photograph and display I chosen a black and white filter so you can appreciate the patterns and contrast in the design. The outer silhouette I have randomly filled with four different colours giving a structure that at some point reminds you of a floor plan, while others look like random pixels or ancient mosaics.

The design came together by enlarging one of the samplers embroideries as shown below, the size was increased in such a way that one cross stich became 4×4 cross stitches, allowing for an increased complexity of the outer shape but as well allowing space to add smaller or bigger designs from the sampler.

 

 

As you might see I have used the same basis as the samplers, yet I have chosen new colours and new or less accents. I find it very inspiring that with cross stich embroidery even when you start out with a very basic design, such as the T shape that form some kind of squares, you can enlarge or simplify the design. In fact the pattern that I now chose as an outline for the embroidery is a result of a adaption of a traditional embroidery pattern my mum has stitched on a table cloth.

Last but not least, to give you some impression of the actual colours of the object: I used purple, lilac, white, grey and light blue. For variation in texture I used various amounts of threads.

DSC01269

Extra: the quite complicated middle pattern of the design I finished while listening to the amazing and inspiring podcast ‘seamwork radio’ https://www.seamwork.com/radio.

Leave a Reply

