Failure//art of omision

I must say that I have been enjoying the art of omission more and more. It might be said that I can be quite a control freak. When I’m reading someone’s text whether it is a simple blogpost or an academic essay , I can get quite frustrated when the information I deem to be incredibly important is not there.. This can be the exact name of something or the missing subtleties that according to me are the difference between on point and completely wrong. As previously mentioned (I think) this blog is a space where I can put something in context, a context that I create myself. The context of an academic article asks certain precision and acknowledgments of sources and responsible parties. Yet as I said i’m becoming more and more a fan of the leaving out of information. Though it still frustrates me at times, (why is there not the specific info that I was looking for) it also inspires me. Having no or unclear rules, freedom, makes failure something that is not a consequence to deal with. Having something not entirely work out the way you expected it would can be an inspiration.

Even though I see this blog as a free space, where I can imagine, create and publish ‘content’, I see that a lot of blogs do not entail that kind of freedom. Actually perhaps it is not just blogs. The world around us is very structured and leaves very little to chance: the things you write publish or consider always have to fit in a certain image, a certain structure that dictates what is or is not acceptable. Of course this kind of formatting is not all bad, it creates wonderful understandable products. Yet we miss the beauty of the art of omission. Perhaps the art of mystery. By leaving something out we can create something that looks better than it is, or show something that is clearly ‘missing’. I like to play with the connotations of putting things in and leaving things out. I love thinking about the context of staying inside or outside the lines, not because that is what I want to do, but as an inspiration. Colouring inside or outside the lines and thinking inside and outside the box imply (clear) lines and boxes. I’m interested what happens when you cannot see the line, or if you can, but you choose to not communicate it to others. This creates a space that is unknown territory.  It allows exploration and examination, ‘touching’ a subject or feeling something is going on without knowing it. Art gives a wonderful space for that. Our rational minds might find ourselves alienated when we are looking at something that our eyes can see but our mind cannot understand.

Speaking of art, I’ve been working at a little project I want to share with all of you. There is no explanation our clear subject. See what it does 🙂

2 thoughts on “Failure//art of omision

  1. karlanvdlustgraaf says:

    Die symbolen doen me een beetje denken aan een hakenkruis, sorry 😛 Of aan dat ene spelletje wat we als kind deden, dat je om de beurt een lijntje moet tekenen en dat je dan zoveel mogelijk hokjes moet creëren.
    Ik vind kunst waar ik niets in zie en wat me ook niets doet super frustrerend. Ook gewoon wel eens bagger eigenlijk. Moderne kunst heb ik wel leren waarderen, maar dan vooral omdat het me vaak wat doet, ik voel er wat bij. Als ik én niets voel en ook nog eens geen hogere gedachte opmerk, dan denk ik al snel van ‘Laaaaaat maar’.
    Ik doe het goed bij regels en duidelijkheid. Daarom was ik zo goed op school, duidelijker kan het niet qua regels en wat je moet weten. Maarja, het is wel saai. Het laat vaak weinig ruimte voor nieuwsgierigheid en inspiratie (om in te haken op je nieuwste post)

    Like

  2. annelenalj says:

    🙂 🙂 🙂 haha jaa ik ben het wel met je eens hoor.. beste /grappigste advies wat ik in het eerste jaar van kunstgeschiedenis kreeg: kijk, loop door een museum. zeg ‘die wel leuk niet wel niet wel niet wel niet , en kijk gewoon maar dan 5 kunstwerken echt even wat langer.. en dan vragen stellen van ‘wat is het, wat betekend het, en allerlei kunsthisotische vragen.. het leuke vind ik aan als kunst echt onbegrijpelijk is, het niet te proberen te begrijpen maar gewoon denke: goh, dat bestaat ook, wat kan ik er voor leukers bij bedenken ? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

