#I’mabadass//Guilty pleasure

So do you ever think that something you do or want to do is completely hilarious and enjoyable but are at the same time kind of scared to share with the world because of the fact that it exposes you being quite wierd? I was at my grandmothers birthday the other day and I did the only thing reasonable when you’re at a birthday and are in between converstations and see a book that seems intresting- I picked it up and read it. It was the Pogingen iets van het leven te maken. Het geheime dagboek van Hendrik Groen 83 1/4 jaar (attempts to make something of life, the secret diary of Hendrik Groen 83 1/4 years). The book is a hilarious diary and google tells me it is perhaps the pseudoniem of a 61 year old writer. Whatever the case what struck me as very funny was that endrik described a certain event as being very funny (someone sitting on a bunch of olibollen, traditonal dutch new years eve food) and him laughing about it. The people that were involved in the incident found that very unamusing and ‘instead of laughing harder like he should have he said his apologies because he was to afraid to show what he really thought and felt’. His whole life he spend hiding himself afraid of what people might think. And it is not completely strange ofcourse to feel this way. – what’s hilarious in your mind might be seem as rude in the best case and or just outragously crazy. So what do I do?

DSC01618

‘Captital Space’ or as I read it in a blink: Capital Escape: this i found very suitable for this post. One way or another, it is a great photo from Place de la Villette.

I will say that I did something that was quite a bit of a guilty pleasure that made me feel very badass. And the truth I would love to write about how the details of this whole episode made me smile so hard, but for now I think i’ve been enough of a badass so now I just cowardly write about how I and I think we all enjoy the things we tell our close friends but rather not everyone 🙂 we after all should keep up the appearance that we are actually sane.

Leave a Reply

